The Old Reliables : My Spice Rack

I was recently thinking of ideas for gifts for my sister who will be hopefully starting university in September and had the idea of a spice rack (or some kind of spice compilation) with my basics. And what would I put in it? Well my staples are:

  • Dried Basil (for pasta or to sprinkle on a tomato and mozzarella sandwich)
  • Dried Oregano (I don’t buy an italian blend because I like to use the oregano separately for greek dishes)
  • Cumin (for arabic dishes and home-made hummous)
  • Mexican Spice Mix (for adapting my Pasta Sauce to Chilli Con Carne, or making fajhitas or mexican rice)
  • Greek Spice Mix (i actually add this to couscous with some olive oil mixed with some tomato puree for the fastest lunch ever)
  • Cinnamon (for porridge and baking)
  • Curry
  • Salt and Peppercorn mill
  • Chilli Flakes (to add to pickles, or to make a quick stir fry a bit spicier)

At the moment I also have paprika, cloves, nutmeg, dried dill, dried ginger, pommes frites spice mix (chips/french fries) and dried mango powder. Have I missed anything glaringly obvious?

Please Leave a Comment!

