chickpea curry two ways

A few weeks ago I cooked and froze some chickpeas as an experiment to save some time, so I want to use these up this week. Chickpea curry is one of my go-to’s when I’m filling out my menu plan and have no idea for one day. It was also a college favourite.

I like to make two kinds of chickpea curry. One that is a tomato and coconut style, based on the Living Frugal in the UK’s website, and the other is an attempt to recreate a delicious spinach and sour cream chickpea recipie as made by the Hare Krishna canteen restaurant in Dublin’s Abbey Street called “Govinda’s“. As for the kind of curry, I have used Aldi’s “english style curry” with absolutely no complaints.

Chickpea Curry Style 1

  • Tin of Chickpeas
  • Mild Curry Powder
  • Tin of Coconut Milk
  • Tin of Tomatoes
  • Handful of frozen Peas
  • Peppers and/or courgettes
  • Handful of Raisins
  • Onions and Garlic
  • A small apple

Chickpea Curry Style 2

  • Tin of chickpeas
  • Mild Curry Powder
  • Fresh or frozen spinach
  • Small tub of Sour Cream
  • Onions and Garlic

I serve both with basmati rice. It freezes very well and if like me you prefer to soak and boil your chickpeas, you can cook lots of them in one go and freeze them for convenience. You can cook and freeze rice also, although I have never tried this with basmati rice. Has anyone else?

Please Leave a Comment!

