Things I don’t buy

Things I don't buy, Buying less stuff, no more spending  Vinigarette / Salad Dressing

Store-Bought Salad dressing often has a lot of gums and preservatives. It’s so easy to just fix your own in a minute! You just need olive oil, some lemon juice or some apple cider vinegar, some grainy mustard and some honey or sugar mixed with a little water to taste. It takes like a second! Or you can make a yoghurt dressing with some fresh or dried herbs, onion salt, plain yoghurt and a little milk.

Things I don't buy, Buying less stuff, no more spending   Hummous

I can’t stand store bought hummous. Home made hummous tastes MUCH better. you only need chickpeas, a blender (or a fork and lots of patience), some natural yoghurt, a bit of cumin, some lemon, salt olive oil, garlic and tahina.

Things I don't buy, Buying less stuff, no more spending  Soup

Packaged and tinned soup just doesn’t taste the same as homemade, so I just don’t bother.

Things I don't buy, Buying less stuff, no more spending  Washing Powder

Looks like I wont’ be buying washing powder for quite some time!

Things I don't buy, Buying less stuff, no more spending   Multi-Purpose Cleaner

Very hot water + washing soda is my new favourite thing

Things I don't buy, Buying less stuff, no more spending  Special Bathroom Cleaner.

Fly Lady says “Soap is Soap”. A quick swish and swipe of the toilet (a tiny amount of bleach) and a spray of “leftover” detergent for the sink done daily and the shower also given a quick scrub after every use keeps it clean. The “Leftover” detergent is  a mix of other “soap” that I didn’t like the smell of, or some rinsed-out containers decanted into an old spray bottle.

Things I don't buy, Buying less stuff, no more spending   Binliners for the bathroom

I use recycled plastic bags from grocery shopping.

Things I don't buy, Buying less stuff, no more spending   Tupperware

Plastic yoghurt tubs (the bucket kinds) are great for freezing soups.

Things I don't buy, Buying less stuff, no more spending   Books, CDs, Films

Only if I have a voucher are they purchased, otherwise borrowing from the library and internet radio does me. I guess I’m not picky in that way.

Things I don't buy, Buying less stuff, no more spending   Banking

I have recently switched banks because the one I was with was charging almost €7 a month for them to have the use of my money, all of which I would get for that were vouchers for things I don’t buy. When I was on a three day week, because every little bit of money counted, I wanted to be put onto a cheaper account so I went to them and told them this is what I would like to do. They actually argued me that it’s cheaper for me to pay for the €7 than the extra fees of their “free” account if I were to make so many ATM withdrawals. So I’d had enough. I’d rather give that money to homeless people.

Is there anything that you don’t buy anymore or have found a way that’s easy to make yourself?

Please Leave a Comment!

