Things I don’t throw away

repurposed T-Shirt, Plastic Bag HolderYoghurt Buckets

These are air-tight, so great for freezing, storing food and detergent, bringing soapy detergent to wash windows… etc. I also soak my coffee machine bits in here from time to time.

Elastic Bands

If you buy scallions/green onions, very often they will come with elastic bands which are great for holding open packets of lentils or pasta or coffee in your cupboard nice and airtight. I keep a cup on my shelf so as i can throw these into them when I take them off the greens and then when I need an elastic band I know where they are.

Fererro Rocher See-Through Plastic Boxes

These again are sturdy, and make very pretty organisation boxes for crafts or documents. I think they look like the ones that you can buy from Muji.

Pretty Glass Jars and bottles

Can be upcycled with material or paper to make pencil holders/vases or to make jam to give to friends/ store pulses. I really can’t throw glass in the bin, it has to at least be recycled or I feel really bad!

Kettle / Coffee Machine Water

Can be used to water plants/steep pulses, rinse soapy residue off dishes. Just keep the kettle beside you when washing up.

Takeaway Fruit-Salad Containers

These domed cups are so pretty, and also u can re-use them to take your own fruit salad to work with you. At the moment we are storing once-used “deep frying” oil to use another time in one.

Takeaway Forks

Wash and stash in your desk drawer for a picnic lunch

Plastic Bags

Unless it’s ripped, i keep even the small produce vegetable bags that you get in the supermarket to use as bin liners.

Plastic and Wooden Trays

I don’t like the unnecesary plastic-wrapping of vegetables at all, but I do keep these to use for sorting out my cupboard. E.g. larger ones can be used to hold teatowels and sponges, smaller ones to hold

T-Shirts

The cloth on tshirts that have gone bally or a funny colour can be used for rags for cleaning the window, or you can make a plastic bag holder to hang inside your cupboard like I have done. I’m the laziest person at sewing ever, i just clipped the arms off, hand sewed them in and sewed the bottom inwards, using the sleeves to make a drawstring which doubles as a string to hang it up with. There are much nicer tutorials for people who are neater with their sewing like over on the Makises blog here there is a step by step picture instruction.

Did I miss something glaringly obvious?

2 comments

  1. I’m chuckling to myself on this one. I’ve had to limit the number of this sort of stuff that I let myself keep because it can take over rather quickly if you let it. After cleaning out a carload of this stuff about 10 years ago (not kidding) I decided that I had to be more reasonable about how much of it I could really use. It sort of kills me to toss/recycle things that could be used for something, but there’s a difference between “could be used” and “will be used!”

  2. yea there is a fine line alright! The past few years I have had to move house around twice a year, sometimes three times a year, so I definitely know where my personal limits are on keeping stuff ;-)

Please Leave a Comment!

