Whipped Shea Butter Hair Moisturising Mask

Today I finally got around to making some home-made hair moisturiser using raw shea butter, but I want to firstly say hello and thank you to lulastic, mancunianvintage, livingsimplyfree and at350degrees for your likes and follows :-) I really like your blogs too.

I was inspired by this video by Thequitabee on youtube about how to make mango butter (wouldn’t that be amazing with some mango essential oil to scent it?). Mine is just very simple to start with using what I have to hand and I substituted the mango butter with shea butter. No particular reason, I just wanted to try shea butter ;-)

The result is an extremely rich whipped moisturising butter that I think will work very well for my thick, dry, curly hair but maybe might be too extreme for people with straight, normal hair. I think it will make a very good heavy moisturizer for feet too.

Ingredients:

  • A lump of shea butter that I bought from my local african supermarket (I didn’t weigh it, but it came in something like a 10p mix-up bag). Then I melted it using the water-bath/double broiler method. It apparently damages the shea butter to just heat it directly in a pan.
  • Olive and Coconut Oils to the same quantity as the melted shea butter
  • Optional: A few drops of any essential oil of your choice (I don’t have any right now, so mine is unscented).

Method

  1. Start with melting the shea butter over a water bath. This means take a pot and a pyrex dish, put hot water in the pot and the shea in the pyrex dish and set the dish on top of the pot until the butter melts. You might want to give it a helping hand by dividing it up with a wooden spoon.
  2. When it’s melted, set aside.
  3. I used two chunks of Palmin (pure solid coconut fat) and did the same, melting them over the hot water.
  4. I then added as much olive oil to make it up to the same amount of shea butter.
  5. I let it cool for about 10mins, poured it into a repurposed yoghurt bucket and popped it in the freezer for 5mins
  6. Then i took my stick-blender to it until it was whipped up nicely

It doesn’t smell great but I care more that my hair is moisturised well and the next time I will have a nice essential oil to add. I think if you used a gentle almond oil or jojoba oil you could use it on the face if you have very dry skin. Shea butter has a natural SPF of 3!

This hair moisturising spray also looks amazing.

11 comments

  1. I was a beautician in my early years and can tell you that you don’t want to use regular conditioners on your hair, they do nothing for your hair other than coat the strands of hair. I like your recipe, not having a stove myself, I would suggest using a slow cooker which would heat the shea butter without damaging it if you don’t have a double boiler.

  2. P.S. Thanks for the shout out, I love your site as well, it sometimes feels as if I’m the only one who enjoys the simple life, so it’s great to find others online who understand.

  3. I would LOVE a slow cooker, but I don’t have one of those! I really would believe (as the no [sham]’poo people say) that hair actually becomes dependent on commercial shampoo and conditioners. My hair is particularly unruly, dry and coarse so I will and have tried literally anything and everything.

  4. You don’t want to hear the horror stories I have about the dangers of using commercial products, especially conditioners and hair spray on our hair. I couldn’t live without my slow cooker, it’s pretty much all I use during the winter months.

  5. I will be keeping my eyes peeled for one at fleamarkets and on ebay classifieds! What particularly appeals to me is the idea that you can leave them on all day and come back to them and your dinner is done :-) I think it’s something also you’d buy once and hopefully have it forever.

  6. Exactly. I never had a problem with mine although I have a funny story about a slow cooker you might appreciate. My son knows the value of owning one and so I decided with two children I would gift him and his wife a slow cooker for Christmas a couple of years ago. One day I asked my DIL if she ever made her chili in the cooker, she blushed and told me she broke it. Then she elaborated, she didn’t know how to use it and thought it was supposed to go on the stove, she put the inner bowl on the stove top and turned on the burner, cracked it!

    I replaced it this year and taught her how to use it, she loves it. :-)

  7. aww, I bet she was really embarassed! Definitely got to get myself one of those – and a blender! I don’t have one either!

  8. Hey, I’m about to try your recipe and I have a few questions. How long do you leave the mask on your hair? I don’t use shampoo but ghassoul (basically mud) to wash my hair and follow with a vinegar rinse, should I do the rinse after the mask? thanks in advance!

  9. Hello, I still have some of the shea butter mask in my fridge (haven’t used it in quite a while). After a few months of keeping it in my drawer it went a bit mouldy and I havent been reaching for the second tub since!

    I was just putting it on the ends of the hair and leaving it for just a few minutes because it is fairly powerful stuff! I have heard of ghassoul, but have never used it. I would imagine that it would be better to use it quite sparingly if you are using a natural shampoo. The way I would do it is do the mask, then wash your hair as normal. I hope that helps! Good luck!

Please Leave a Comment!

