Revolt against the Bakery!

muesli breadstick, breadsticks, take to work lunches, baking for the freezer, cranberry and walnut bread rollsHello, and sorry I was gone for so long. I had lots Walnut and Cranberry Muesli Stick Breadrolls, home-baking, baking at home, baking for lunches, recipies to save moneyof visitors and then fell into a cycle of being very disorganised… but am slowly trying to get myself back into my routine. Part of being disorganised means that I have been eating lunch out at work (which I HATE because it is such a waste of money if you have a full fridge at home) and going to the bakery to get a kind of long muesli bread roll that i really like some days so as I’m not spending a fortune and staying within budget.

BUT!

I have noticed that every bakery’s “Mueslistange” (muesli-stick) as it’s called, is gradually going up in price (between 10 – 30 cents) and they are removing the muesli and malted brown bread and coating it in just plain oats and using a lighter flour. Grrrr! So, I thought to myself: how hard can it be to MAKE Mueslistaenge yourself, bake them and freeze them?

I had bought (by accident) a bag of whole wheat flour for baking that turned out to have yeast in it already, so that will be the basis of the recipe

I recently read this post over on the Down to Earth Blog for two simple bread recipies that helped the inspiration to make my own. If you read the comments on that page also, a reader called “Mim” gave a recipie for an also very delicious looking pumpkin and rosemary bread that uses polenta, and I had mistakenly bought polenta for the above recipie… but i can keep it for when pumpkin season comes round again :)

My recipie will be:

half a bag of brown bread mix, mixed with some lukewarm water and the yeast left to rest half an hour, i.e. prepared to the instructions on the packet
1 cup chopped cranberries
1 cup chopped walnuts

OR

  • 2 cups of fruit muesli

OPTIONAL

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 3 tablespoons soft butter
  • 1 ¼ cups boiling water – add more if needed
  • 1 beaten egg

Then I will roll them into long breadroll-sticks, bake them for about half an hour at around 150 degrees centigrade, leave to cool and freeze what we don’t want eat on the first day. And of course post a picture of how they turn out ;-) But for now we’re going camping if the weather holds…

Please Leave a Comment!

