Jam Guilt

I’m starting to feel guilty that I haven’t made any more jam after polishing off the last of my ginger and rhubarb jam that I made months ago. I should get myself together and “make hay while the sun shines” (and while the fruits are still in season!) I may have missed the boat already on the strawberries, which is disappointing.

I would like to give these recipes a go, not necessarily in any order:

Strawberry Jam

The classic. Strawberry jam is basically equal parts of mashed fruit and any old sugar, boiled and simmered and left to set.

Elderberry Jelly

Elderberry juice is a popular cold and flu remedy and flavour of “lemsip-style” drinks here in Germany. It’s more expensive than the lemon kind usually! Requires pectin and lemon-juice (I made it without a few years ago and I only got syrup).

Peach Jam

Also requires pectin and lemon-juice. Never made it before but I LOVE peaches and they’re everywhere at the moment.

Rosehip Jam

Quite tedious to make if you do it the way where you halve the fruits and wear gloves to remove the little seeds (because the fibres can get itchy on your hands) but an interesting flavour and LOTS of vitamin C. Apparently you can just boil the fruits and strain off the seeds either with a sieve. I have made it twice and did it the tedious way with the radio on. I also came across an apple and Rosehip kind here.

Apricot Jam

This recipe just looks like the sugar-plus-fruit style jam, which is my favourite kind! i have also never made this before.

I also missed the boat on the elderflower jelly recipe (I was too timid to take the leaves when we were staying in Denmark). If I had have been organised and had the proper sugar I probably would have made a batch then and there!

5 comments

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting! I thought I’d come and see what you have been posting about and saw you mention rhubarb and ginger jam, which sounds delicious! Do you have a recipe for it? And I am inspired to try the elderberry jelly here too! Thanks for the inspiration!

Please Leave a Comment!

