A Walk in the Woods… and a Cake

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I had a lovely walk in the woods today and saw so many mushrooms! Isn’t Autumn beautiful? I wouldn’t dare pick any mushrooms because I haven’t a clue what’s good to eat and what might make me sick. So, I stick to photography ;) I did get a book out of the library about mushroom-picking, but I think I might need someone to show me properly because it looked like there were a lot of very similar looking mushrooms to the edible kind that are very poisonous!

I also made this simple sponge cake (I have had the recipe bookmarked for YEARS). At the moment it seems like I had the oven on too low. I put some dried cranberries and vanilla into it.  I wanted to try Sarina’s Pineapple Upside Down Cake but I didn’t have any pineapple – so – another time perhaps!

One comment

  1. We have been finding so many varieties of mushroom around here as well. I’ve seen some I would have never guessed existed. Maybe being car-free now has been a good thing for me. I’m seeing things I probably overlooked for years. Gorgeous pictures.

Please Leave a Comment!

