Back from my Holidays :)

Hello, I’m back from my holidays at home with my family in Ireland. The weather was quite cold but bright and sunny. I ended up doing my part two of my shopping plan there, as my wages didn’t come in until Wednesday, which worked out ok. I went to two charity shops that I thought are worth a mention, which are :

Irish Wheelchair Association Charity Shop, John Street, Ardee, Co. Louth (didn’t buy anything but they had a lot of nice dresses)

Vincent’s (SVP Charity Shop), now located at Park Street, Dundalk, Co. Louth (I got a pretty scarf and two small “going out” bags)

  I mostly brought back crisps for my boyfriend since they are very expensive here, and some other things like custard.

I also watched a very informative programme on TV called Rip Off Food about food fraud. They talked about Pangasius fish which is also known as “River Cobbler”. This is a very popular fish sold frozen in Germany which is apparently a more sustainable option than cod, but is being mixed in with other supermarket ready-fish-dishes and sold as more expensive cod. They also told about how cheaper extra virgin olive oils are “watered down” (practically undetectable up to 10%) with hazelnut oil and how frozen pizza ham is usually made from turkey. I was also surprised that “analogue cheese” is not just a German expression for tasteless cheese, but is a real product, mostly used on frozen pizzas which is made from vegetable oils rather than milk. Can they still call this cheese? Watching this programme made me glad that I make a lot of what we eat from scratch :)

5 comments

  1. Glad you had a lovely time in Ireland.

    And had a good rummage in the charity shops.

    That sounds like a really interesting programme.

    Just to let you know I replied to your Liebster award on a previous post.

    Thank you once again.

    Sft x

  2. Interesting program, so that’s why I never cared for frozen pizzas! I so envy you your vacation to Ireland, it’s the one place I am still holding out to visiting one day, sounds like you had a wonderful time. I’m glad I make most of my own food too.

  3. During the “boom time” it was extortionately expensive, but I believe now it’s quite a lot cheaper when it comes to food and accommodation. As an extra tip, the cost of living in Northern Ireland is a lot less than in the Republic, and there are lots of lovely places to visit there too (like the Giant’s Causeway and Carrickarede Rope Bridge). I think, for a vegan it could be quite difficult outside dublin other than a self-catering option :(

Please Leave a Comment!

