Lemon Poppyseed Loaf with Kefir

Lemon Poppyseed Pound Cake with Kefir

Another birthday to attend to for Monday… luckily I had some of the storecupboard essentials, I just bought a lemon, some butter, some whole poppyseeds, white flour some sugar and a carton of eggs. I’m twisting this Good Housekeeping recipe to fit what I have.

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 cup(s) all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoon(s) poppyseeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon(s) baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon(s) baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon(s) salt

***

  • 1 large lemon (microwaved for 10 seconds to get more juice out)
  • 3/4 cup of butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup kefir
  • 1 small package of vanilla sugarPREPARATION
  1. The first thing was to preheat the oven to 160 degree Celcius. Then combine the first five ingredients, (I sifted the flour).
  2. Zest the whole lemon and set aside.
  3. Squeeze the lemon to get the juice. I got 4 tablespoons-full out of half a large lemon.
  4. Then put the butter and the sugar into a bowl and mix for about 5mins.
  5. Add each egg, one at a time, mixing well in between.
  6. Then add in the vanilla sugar, the lemon juice the flour mixture and the kefir.
  7. Put into your loaf tin and bung in the oven for an hour and a half
  8. I added about 4 tablespoons of icing sugar to my leftover tablespoon of lemon juice to make a drizzle glaze to decorate.

    Lemon poppyseed inside
    Lemon poppyseed cake inside – i cut this while it was still hot, so today will probably be crumblier in the next slice.

To calculate the cost of the ingredients:
white flour : 45c
sugar: 45c
lemon: 60c
poppyseeds: €1.39
butter: 99c
eggs: €1.69

TOTAL € 5.57

It seems like a lot of money, but I have *plenty* of flour, poppyseeds, sugar, butter and a few eggs left over. Maybe 3 eggs would have been enough. By the way I only buy free range eggs. I’m not veggie and can’t afford a fully organic shopping basket but this is important to me.

It looks good, I just took it out of the oven after an hour and 15mins to stop it from browning any further. The knife that went in came out clean, so it’s done. It’s cooling for 10mins before it gets its drizzle. Right now I’m just enjoying some mint tea.
I will post a photo and give the verdict on how it tasted tomorrow.

Hope you have a peaceful evening!

6 comments

  1. I ate a little piece today and I have to say it really was very good, if I do say so myself. I also have a recipe for mango poppyseed muffins which sound interesting, but I have no muffin tray. Cranberry is *always* good! :)

    Perhaps it could be made vegan, but the only problem that I could foresee is that the dairy cream/kefir wouldn’t be the same. I have used soy cream in baking as a substitute for certain things where it just didn’t work so have given up on that when it has to be vegan.

    I think kefir can be made with coconut milk or soy milk too, I must give it a try sometime too.

  2. I also thought when I had made up the dry ingredients, that this would make a lovely cake-mix present for someone. The yellowish colour and poppyseeds look pretty just on their own. All you would need to write on the label to add would be>
    “just add
    -4 eggs
    -a cup of sourcream/kefir
    -3T lemon juice
    -3/4 cup butter
    and bake for 1h15min on 160 degrees Celcius”.

Please Leave a Comment!

