Out to Sea? The Plastic Garbage Project Exhibition

Hello again! I’ve just returned from a very interesting exhibition on plastic waste in the Hamburg Museum for Art and Industry. I know that may not sound very exciting and to be honest, the news isn’t great, but I guess it’s one of those “the more you know, the more you can do about it” kind of things.

One of the most interesting stands was a video simulation of the movement of debris created by the tsunami in Japan last year and its predicted direction of the waste-sediment caused by it over the next 8 years or so, (floating eastwardly to the West Coast of the USA and Canada). Then another chart showed how the world’s rubbish (particularly plastic rubbish) is/will accumulate in 8 or so different “centres” under the oceans. This was very sad to see. So both my boyfriend and I are resolved to now use less plastic in our home.

I will finish more crochet’d cloth scrubbers for using in the kitchen and we will invest in some Sigg bottles and cut way back on buying plastic-bottled drinks for the house.

There were two stands on display discussing the kinds of biodegradable plastics used to make “environmentally-friendly plastic” bin liners. While some of it was very “technical’ for me to take in, there seems to be a debate on the relatively large carbon footprint that is needed to make these biodegradable plastics, which was surprising because I would have assumed they’re perfectly environmentally friendly.

I have read blogs where people have gone plastic-free and I must say this sounds almost impossible to me! But I also firmly believe that as consumers we hold the key to the change we want to see and with lots of information and small steps and better choices here and there we can achieve a lot.

2 comments

  1. I’m glad you had an opportunity to participate in this, it’s always eye opening to see the actual results of our consumerism. I am pretty close to plastic free, I don’t know if I will ever be totally plastic free, but I’m happy at least I don’t eat or store food in plastic.

  2. It really was an eye opener and I am going to strive to be as plastic free as possible, little by little. There was also a really interesting stand about micro-particle plastics which are tiny grains of plastic used in certain toothpastes and body scrubs. It’s amazing what products other than food packaging that contain plastic in various forms.

Please Leave a Comment!

