Raspberry Vinegar

Hello everyone, I hope your sunday is as relaxing as mine is today.

I did a silly thing yesterday, I needed some general-purpose vinegar, and so I thought I’d be clever and buy concentrate vinegar that I can dilute. I did buy some that is concentrate to 25%, which I chose because it was in a glass bottle and believe even if I only get two bottles of the large one out of it, then I have at least saved a plastic bottle. I was also distracted by another product on the same shelf – raspberry vinegar – YUM! As if I need any extra motivation to eat more salad ;)

left: recycled plastic vinegar bottle with diluted vinegar from smallest bottle (concentrate) for cleaning. Right: Storebought raspberry vinegar
left: recycled plastic vinegar bottle with diluted vinegar from smallest bottle (concentrate) for cleaning. Right: Storebought raspberry vinegar

While I was diluting the vinegar (one part concentrate to four parts water) I noticed a recipe for how to make your own raspberry vinegar using ordinary frozen raspberries! I couldn’t believe it! Here is the recipe from the back of the pack of the smallest bottle:

  • 150g fresh or frozen raspberries in one cup of concentrate vinegar and one cup of water
  • 3 cups of rosé wine (or grape juice)
  • Place in a bottle and mix.
  • Then leave for 6 days to settle.
  • If you like to, add some sugar or honey to it, to taste.

I wanted to share what I plan to do for Valentine’s Day this year, which is on a Thursday. This means that we won’t be doing anything fancy. It will be a miracle if I am home by 9pm that evening anyway! I will make a little card myself and hide it in his rucksack and if I’m not too late home, bring home a bottle of wine and some ice-cream. Then on Friday, hopefully we will make it to a restaurant I have booked since two weeks ago.

Do you do something special on valentine’s day? It is not really a very big holiday here in germany at at all.

3 comments

  1. I seriously have to try that raspberry vinegar recipe. I don’t do much different on Valentine’s Day. I’ll have something little to give to the grand children, but play it by ear as to what I eventually do.

  2. and i guess i’m good for raspberry vinegar for a while, but after it is gone i will definitely give it a go myself!

Please Leave a Comment!

