gallery Fast, Cheap, Good : Apple and Cherry Strudel


Fast, Cheap, Good Strudel

Hello friends, and a very happy Easter to anyone celebrating this holiday!

This Apple & Cherry Strudel is something that I threw together very quickly on Saturday and I think could possibly be the cheapest dessert that I have ever made! It’s not a true strudel in the sense of the pastry, but instead uses roll-out puff pastry. I got the idea from a picture on Pinterest.

Here are the ingredients that I used:

  • 1 roll-out puff pastry – €0.67 
  • 12 frozen sour cherries – €0.40 (I guess it’s about a third of a small box)
  • 1 ½ apples – €0.80  (I was using up a little dented one)
  • a squeeze of lemon juice – €0.20
  • a couple of sprinkles of cinnamon – €0.05
  • a sprinkle of icing sugar for the fruit and one to dust when baked – €0.05

TOTAL  = €2.17

All I really had to buy was the puff pastry.

  1. I made cuts in the puff pastry on the left and right sides, about a quarter of the width into the “rectangle” on the sort side.
  2. I sliced the apples thinly and layered them in a row down the middle of the puff pastry.
  3. Then i moistned the apples with a squeeze of lemon juice.
  4. Then I set the cherries in a row down the middle.
  5. All of the fruit got a quick sprinkle of cinnamon
  6. Then I began to plait the strands of pastry, layering each strip over the other until i reached the end
  7. I set this into the oven around 160 degrees Centigrade for 20 minutes or so, until the top  had puffed up and was a golden brown colour.
  8. Then I removed it from the oven and let it cool 5 minutes before sprinkling it with icing sugar and served with icecream :) Yummm!

I think this would also be really good with apples and raisins and was quite quick, easy and mess-free as an idea for a fast dessert to take with me when visiting friends.

2 comments

  1. why thank you! Actually, by the time I took this photo, as you can see we’d eaten half of it and it was a day later!

Please Leave a Comment!

