No ‘Poo Booboo No.3

Hello, hello! I’m so sorry I had no time to post at all over the weekend. Yesterday (Sunday) we FINALLY got the first taste of spring and so went to enjoy it outside at the lakefront with a friend who was lonely. It was fantastic to be outside again in just a hoodie! No hats, gloves and scarves! Today is to be warmer (22 degrees Celcius) and sunny with the possibility of rain.

I have a little problem with my No ‘Poo endeavour, which is that on Thursday morning, I noticed the crown of my head getting very greasy. “No problem”, I thought, “I’ll just give it a quick No ‘Poo. I don’t need to bother with the apple cider vinegar.” Wrong! My scalp still looked dull and sticky. I had no time to redo it, so I pinned the front of my hair in a little twist behind the crown (á la SJP) to disguise how strange it looked, which was quite successful if I do say so myself.

I was so busy on Saturday that I just ended up doing the same thing with my hairstyle and by Sunday I thought to my self that it had gone a step too far and I should call in the heavies. Which by that I mean the Dr. Bronner’s Pure Castille Soap. This did not get rid of my problem at ALL and actually left it looking really dandruffy. Later I will have to try to take the time and No ‘Poo it properly.

I found some citric acid in the baking section of a small supermarket in town, so I might pick that up later on too.

6 comments

  1. Yup… Dull and sticky hair generally means a buildup of sebum, and neither baking soda nor soap will cut through it. You need the acidic rinse of either vinegar or citric acid to deal with it. When it gets bad, I generally up the acidity of my rinse, let it sit on my hair for about 10 minutes and then comb thoroughly (with the acid rinse on) until the gunk stops coming out in the comb.

  2. Haha! This really made me laugh! Only I could *decide* that I don’t need the vinegar rinse because I have no time and expect to get away with it! ;)

  3. Oh dear. Then I just need to be less gross and wash my hair more often so as the build up doesn’t happen too much and for the time being go for a good vinegar rinse.

  4. If just that, then it was at least worth something! LOL! It’s looking a lot better now with a good wash and a very good vinegar rinse.

Please Leave a Comment!

