Traditional Home Remedy for the Cold

Traditional Home Remedy for Cold

Hello everyone and sorry I have been so mousy quiet I have some kind of cold or flu thing the last week. I thought it might be nice to post what for me and my family is the most effective anti-cold hot drink, which we call “honey and lemon”. It’s a quarter of a cup of lemon juice (fresh) and a quarter of a cup of orange juice (fresh) with a teaspoon of honey, topped  up with hot water and a slice of lemon or orange with a few cloves in it. That makes it not only kind of menthol-y but also a bit fancy! I would only ever take max. 3 a day because they are quite acidic but it really works.  Slices of ginger in hot water also works very well, particularly for the throat.

Hope that helps somebody! It’s miserable having the cold! But afterwards you appreciate your nostrils and throat and head working properly for you like never before :)

2 comments

  1. P, I’m sorry you’ve been feeling under the weather; hope you are all good now. I make something similar; I put either a few thin slices of fresh ginger or a quarter teaspoon of dried, ground ginger in a mug. I add about 3 or 4 tablespoons of lemon juice and a tablespoon or two of honey, then hot water to top it off. Let sit for a few minutes and sip. I do this all day. The thing about acidity is that the juice itself is acid, but it creates an alkaline reaction in the body, which is what you want, as cold germs thrive in acid environments. However, the acid can be hard on tooth enamel, so I like to drink plain hot water after and brush my teeth often. If I don’t have all the ingredients, I use a quarter teaspoon or so of baking soda (not powder!) in a cup of hot water and sip; this is repeated all day, too. It has the same alkalizing effect. If you are interested in acidity and alkalinity and how they affect the body, there is a great book called “Alkalize or Die”, which sounds pretty drastic, but the information is excellent and easy to use.

    For coughs, I put a tablespoon of flax seed in a cup and add the same of honey, then fill with boiling water and put a saucer on top. When it’s steeped and is still slightly warm, I strain out the seeds and add a couple of tablespoons of lemon juice. The cooled liquid will be thick like egg white. When sipped, it coats the throat nicely and stops the coughing. I think it also begins healing when the throat is raw. My kids liked it a lot; it was the only ‘cough syrup’ I ever gave them.

  2. Hi Linne, how are you? the book sounds really interesting and I have heard little bits and pieces before. Those are great tips for me, thank you. I also have a HUGE bag of ground ginger that I have no idea how I will use it all before it goes off! LOL! So I can even give this one a try today :) It’s cleared off a lot thankfully, just the kind of feeling where you can’t hear properly… but the thoughts of my holidays on Sunday are keeping me going!! :D

Please Leave a Comment!

