Packing before our Holiday!

Hello to all!

Ok, so even for me the hand luggage is looking a little "light" :D
Ok, so even for me the hand luggage is looking a little “light” :D

I have been so grateful that I was out of action with the cold last weekend and not next weekend because we’re off to CANADA for three whole weeks from TOMORROW! I cannot wait! A trip’s long awaited preparations and excitement begins with selecting the accommodation of course, but I also have a lot of fun with the packing. I don’t worry too much about forgetting something, as long as the paperwork is mostly in order, anything else that’s missing can be bought on arrival.

I had wanted to go to the thrift store last weekend to look for a skirt but I was just too sick and couldn’t get out of bed. Perhaps I can get something lovely in Vancouver.

1 week before:

  • Check that each destination has a rough ETA (check)
  • Top up if you have a pay as you go mobile phone (check)
  • Plan your on-board “outfit” and make sure it gets washed and dried during the week (check)
  • Charge your camera and any other electronic equipment (check)
  • Check your packing list to see if you need to get something before you go (check)
  • Ask a friend or neighbour to look after your plants/pets

MY PACKING LIST

Hold Luggage

1. Clothes and Shoes

  • 7 pairs of socks and underwear
  • 2 Bras
  • 4 casual tshirts
  • 1 fancier but simple top that you can wear if you stop at a fancier bar or restaurant
  • 1 skirt
  • 1 pair of shorts
  • 1 pair of khakis
  • 1 pair of jeans (plus I will be wearing a pair of jeans)
  • 1 jumper (I will be wearing a hoody)
  • 2 spaghetti tops
  • rain jacket with hood
  • tankini
  • flipflops
  • hiking boots
  • runners/sneakers (I will be buying a pair of ballerinas over there)

2. Medicine Bag

  • painkillers
  • antacid tablets (rennies or similar)
  • german “digestion tea” (Magen und Darm Tee). Comes with me wherever I go.
  • cough syrup sticks
  • hot lemon drink vit c plus magnesium sticks
  • insect repellant
  • sudocrem (antiseptic cream)
  • plasters
  • wet wipes
  • travel wash for clothes
  • sun lotion (will double up as body moisturiser)
  • after sun (will double up as body moisturiser)

3. Toiletries Bag

  • deoderant (pump spray)
  • toothpaste and toothbrushes
  • floss
  • tweezers and nail clippers (somebody ALWAYS wants these)
  • foundation and sponge, blush, vaseline
  • a few q tips/cotton buds

4. Gadgets

  • Camera Chargers
  • Mobile Phone Charger
  • Adaptor
  • Travel washing line
  • travel towel
  • tiny collapsable rucksack from decathlon

5. Emergency Snacks

  • Mini Pretzels
  • Sweets (like Haribo)

On Board Bag (we will take small rucksacks)

  • Passports
  • Driver’s Licence
  • Wallet
  • Housekeys
  • Mobile phone
  • Paperwork
    • Visa for transiting US (ESTA)
    • Routeplan
    • Itinerary with highlighted address and phone numbers
    • Travel health insurance
  • Change of underwear and tshirt in case our luggage gets lost
  • Cameras
  • Sucky sweets for take off
  • A book
  • Netbok

What are your travel essentials? Do you think I’ve missed anything? Wish us luck! :D

5 comments

  1. Have a wonderful trip! Since I haven’t really been on a trip in about 20 years I have no advice to offer except to have fun! :-)

  2. Hug a tree in Vancouver for me! I’m homesick, especially now that spring has come and we’re into summer heat! (I’m not from Van, but one of my sons lives there. I’ve been there lots. If you get time, go to Granville Island. Lovely crafts, art, music, etc.

  3. Had to laugh at this list. It’s almost identical to what I would have, right down to the Magen Darm Tee and sudocreme. I may try to get rid of as many chemicals as possible but I’ll never let go of my sudocreme!

  4. That is funny :) The most requested item to be brought home from Germany is also the old Magen Darm Tee. I just love the smell of the Sudocreme too :)

Please Leave a Comment!

