Simple Hummous

simple hummous

Happy Sunday to you all, folks! We’re in the middle of a heat-wave here in Hamburg (which we’re really enjoying!). I was writing up my weekly menu plan today and while taking some shade, decided to get a little bit ahead for tomorrow by making my hummous.

I thought I would share a very simple recipe for hummous, which is a middle eastern chickpea dip. My dear Egyptian friend showed me how to make it. It is apparently very healthy and high in protein. I like to eat it because it tastes so good and reminds me of my friend :) My mum always asks me to make a big batch of it it when I am at home. I used a can of chickpeas this time but I am convinced it tastes even better if you have dry chickpeas and soak them and boil them. Here’s a rough recipe to make a nice amount for one person:

  • 3/4 of a can of chickpeas (drained)
  • 4 tablespoons of water
  • just under half a lemon, squeezed
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • salt, pepper and cumin
  • a small clove of garlic
  • * 2 tablespoons of tahina
  • * 2 tablespoons plain yoghurt

(* optional)

Throw everything into your blender, or if like me you have a “stick blender” and a mixing bowl, then make sure to cover the top of the bowl with a teatowel. If the mixture is too stiff, then add some water or oil and blend until it’s as smooth as you like it. I like it like a spread and to eat it with grilled vegetables or just with some cut up carrots and cucumbers as a snack on a hot summer’s day. It’s also a very cheap and filling lunch and tastes so much better home-made than the fanciest store-bought brand :) Enjoy!

 

 

Please Leave a Comment!

