Sally’s Northern Irish Chicken Soup

Sallys Soup

After Hallowe’en at home, I was craving my granny’s chicken and vegetable soup. She had told me how to make it a few years ago but it’s never quite the same as when she makes it! It does taste pretty close to the real thing. It’s almost like scotch broth, a clear, unblended soup with pieces of fluffy barley and short bits and shreds of chicken. It requires a little bit of “Soup Mix” steeped overnight, which I have never seen for sale in Germany but it is one of those un-glamourously packaged foods for sale in the supermarket at home. Soup Mix is not just any old packet soup mix, but a particular mix of yellow split peas, red lentils, barley and split green peas. I only had pearl barley so I used that. It’s quite uncomplicated to make, you just need time to let it cook.

  • A handful of soup mix, steeped overnight
  • Two chicken legs (what I used) or some chicken thighs or some leftover roast chicken or shin beef
  • A large carrot, cut into small cubes
  • A large parsnip, grated
  • A stick of celery chopped finely
  • A small onion, chopped finely
  • A chicken or vegetable stock cube for a litre and a half of water (can add more after)
  • A large handful of parsley torn quite loosely (and keep a few sprigs for decoration)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Put all of the above in a large pot that has a lid (or a slow cooker) and leave on a low heat for a few hours. I did mine in the crockpot overnight on medium and when I lifted the legs out to shred the meat a little bit and discard the bones, most of the meat just fell off back into the pot as I was trying to lift it out! LOL! You can add more water later if it is too stew-y for your liking. It’s supposed to be a broth.

I hope you enjoy it if you would like to try to make it. It freezes really well. I have never tried to make it with the shin beef as yet. I had some for lunch today and it was soooo good :)

2 comments

  1. This is my kind of soup.usually from a chicken carcass and without the parsnips which i will include next time,otherwise identical

  2. A lot of people don’t like parsnips but I think they’re really fragrant and work nicely with the celery, especially when grated like this.

Please Leave a Comment!

