Paleo Pantry Hunter-Gatherer Loaf

DSC02034

Good morning!

Something I didn’t mention the last few weeks is that I have been trying to reduce the old spare tyre a little bit and am trying a mixture of freeletics and paleo. The hardest part is that I do my exercise in the morning and it makes Paleo breakfast a bit tight for time, so I thought I might bake a loaf to save me a bit of time. The reason I didn”t make muffins instead is that I have no muffin tray.

  • Here was the recipe i muddled to gether from a few different paleo cakes/loaves:
  • 1 and 1/4 cup carrots
  • 1/4 cup oil (I had no coconut oil so I just used sunflower – not paleo but whatever)
  • 1 cup ground almonds
  • 1 cup ground coconut
  • 2 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 3 bananas mashed (I think I would take two next time)

Then handfuls of the following from the pantry:

  • poppy seeds, walnuts, sunflower seeds, raisins
  • And before it goes into the oven add a quick tablespoon of vinegar (i had japanese rice wine vinegar)

I baked it at 160 C for about 40 mins and it came out more like a dense, moist, slightly sweet loaf.

Paleo Loaf
By the time I got around to taking the photo of it I had eaten all but the last two pieces – LOL! So it was good!

 

4 comments

  1. Wow! That actually looks delicious! I’d have to adjust the recipe a bit so as not to end up in the emergency room (allergic to carrots, almonds, sunflower seeds, walnuts and poppy seeds) but I think I could substitute zucchini for the carrots and some combination of cashews, peanuts & pumpkin seeds for the rest… or are legumes not allowed in the paleo world?

  2. LOL! It’s basically Cat’s Allergy Cake! In a nutshell paleo doesn’t allow dairy, pulses (legumes and that includes peanuts somehow but excludes french beans somehow), grains, potatoes (except sweet potatoes somehow). I think that’s it, but I get the feeling I’ve forgotten something really important. Also the ratio of veg to meat and fruit and nuts is important. There are lots of pages on the interweb that will describe it better than I can!

    It’s really a high (good) fat, low carb diet and although I’m not weighing myself I have definitely lost a little bit around the waist. I can close jackets that previously did not fit with much more ease now and one dress where I needed shapewear i now do not need it :)

    I could imagine ground walnuts would be a delicous alternative to the ground almonds as the “flour” but would need less oil then? I also wanted to try grated zucchini next time :) Please let me know how you got on if you do try it, I’d love to know!

  3. Hmmm… very interesting. I may have to bend the rules since I’m allergic to virtually all nuts and seeds. But since I’m not actually trying to lose weight I guess that’s OK. I’ll keep you posted!

  4. Absolutely! I will also post if I try with zucchini. im having an off-paleo week because it’s too hard with work this week.

Please Leave a Comment!

