Strawberry Cheesecake Ice-Cream

strawberry cheesecake icecreamIt’s been a long long time since I posted and I have indeed been very busy. I do have two new recipes to share though. The first that I will post today is for Strawberry ice-cream in the Ice-cream maker. I just love when ice-cream maker recipes actually work and this one from food.com is a keeper. I used fresh strawberries because they’re in season and very reasonably priced right now but later in the year I will remake it with frozen ones.

Here is the recipe to be prepared in a previously-frozen icecream maker bowl 24 hours in advance:

  • 8 ounces cream cheese
  • ½ cup sugar (if using sugar or syrup packed frozen berries, omit the sugar in the recipe)
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla (I used one vial of Dr. Oetker butter vanilla)
  • ¾ cup fresh pureed strawberry (if using sugar or syrup packed frozen berries, omit the sugar in the recipe)
  • 1 cup half-and-half

I first chopped the strawberries up small first, and heated them up to a boil with the sugar and lemon juice. Then I let them simmer for a few minutes and blended them into a syrup. This had to cool before blending with all the other ingredients for approx 1 hour.

I may make again with some BASIL added :) Hope you’re all doing really good!

Please Leave a Comment!

