Matcha Pound Cake with White Chocolate Glaze

matcha pound cake

Happy Sunday! I’ve been doing a lot of soul-searching recently and wondering where my journey is going and how I can find a bit more balance in my life. I’m not there yet with the answer, but I’m getting closer to leaving this job for starters.

I felt like baking last week, (I find it really therapeutic) and have some matcha tea that I brought home from Japan that I find too sweet to drink. This recipe from Food.com was easy and came out well. I melted some white chocolate over a bowl of hot water as a glaze. It tasted very good and was soft and moist.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 12 cup sugar  (because my matcha was already sweetened)
  • 12 cup butter
  • 2 large eggs (beaten)
  • 1 tablespoon green tea powder (matcha) (I used half a package)
  • 12 teaspoon baking powder
  • A bar of white chocolate for the glaze

Directions:

  1. Cream butter in a bowl.
  2. Add sugar in the butter and mix well. Gradually add beaten eggs and stir well.
  3. Sift flour, baking powder, and green tea powder together and add the flour to the egg mixture.
  4. Pour the batter into a buttered loaf pan. Bake in preheated 340 degrees F (I used about 180 degrees Celsius fan-assisted) oven for about 30-40 minutes.

I still have a lot of matcha left and would like to use it to make some green tea ice-cream in the ice-cream maker friends of ours bought for us. Our ice-cream maker doesn’t get used even nearly enough!

On the day after my birthday I also made an Avoca Carrot Cake to bring into work for my colleagues, but I forgot to add the flour and it didn’t set! Oops! I made it a second time for just us and it came out just fine :) I took my birthday off work and treated myself to a sauna and a massage. It felt wonderful just to have some quiet time alone, and as always when I have some quiet time alone I wonder, how can I fit in some quiet alone time into my working week? If you have any ideas for me on this topic I would LOVE to hear how you work it into your schedule!

I booked a little getaway for us in October to Majorca, when I hope to have successfully moved jobs. Hopefully it will still be nice and warm and sunny then and I just plan to relax at the beach and stay at an air b&b so we can come and go as we please.

Then Christmas will follow in quick succession, but I also already have our flights booked with Ryanair from Bremen this year. I thought it would save us money doing it this way, but as it turns out, there’s not such a big difference. I have decided that because of the baggage allowance for Ryanair’s hand luggage, this year everyone is going to get vouchers from us to make it easier for us.

We also decided that next year it makes sense to holiday in Ireland as my sister will get married over the May bank holiday. We’ll drive to France and take the ferry across and spend three weeks. It will be a great chance to catch up with friends and family at our own pace in our own car, although I know there will be plenty to do in preparation for the wedding. I’m saving a little bit in a special account for a gift for them towards their honeymoon.

After the wedding we plan on staying in a friend’s apartment in the spectacularly beautiful Clifden area. Since a colleague told me about Whale Watching down in Baltimore I have it in my head to work this into our trip as well. That’s our travel plans for the time being! Sometime in 2017 we plan on a trip to the states to see Yellowstone Nationalpark. Tips for us for what to see or where to stay in this area are also very much appreciated.

In the meantime when I haven’t been “workaholic-ing”, I’ve been trying to do a deep declutter and feng-shui our apartment up a bit which has just been great. It’s a great feeling donating things like clothes and books that can raise money for good causes, but also the feeling of freeing up space for yourself in your home is equally great. Just to be able to open the wardrobe without everything being crushed in there is lovely.

Have a great week guys!

-P

Please Leave a Comment!

