Eggless Tiramisù with Amaretto

Eggless TiramisuHere’s a quick tiramisu I rustled up this morning for a colleague’s birthday. I had instantly decided I wasn’t going to slave over the oven after my 6am carrot cake failure the week before.

Preparation would have been quicker had I had the time yesterday to both go belly-dancing and prepare a tiramisu. Unfortunately I had to choose, and I chose belly-dancing because that’s just how I’m rolling at the moment.

The recipe is based on this one (in german) from Allrecipes.de. I made double the amount, had a bit more marscapone than called for but not really enough cream. I chilled the coffee in the freezer.

Should make 16 portions…

  • 7 cups cold Espresso in a bowl
  • 100 g icing sugar (I used caster because I had used up all my icing sugar and it was fine)
  • 2 packages of vanilla sugar
  • 40 ml Amaretto
  • 500 g Mascarpone approx.
  • some Milch
  • 400 ml (whipped )Cream approx.
  • 1 vial of vanilla (or teaspoon of vanilla essence)
  • 400 g ladies’ fingers / boudouir biscuits (savoiare)
  • Cocoa powder and / or grated chocolate shavings

Directions:

Put the amaretto and the sugar along with the packets of vanilla sugar into a bowl and whisk briefly.

Then add all the marscapone to the vanilla-sugar-booze and whisk again until thick.

Add milk until it turns into more of a creamy consistency (approx. 4/5 tablespoons should do it).

Add the vanilla vial (or teaspoon of vanilla essence) to the cream and stirr it up one more time.

Open the packet of biscuits and put the cold coffee into a bowl. Dip each biscuit in the coffee briefly and place in your dish. I used a round cake tin only because I have a lid with handles on it for transportation. A lasagne dish would be perfect.

Keep going until you have one layer of coffee-dipped biscuits on the bottom of the dish.

Blob a layer of the marscapone-cream, about half the amount in the bowl, all over the top of the coffee-dipped biscuits. Just like you would for a lasagne, repeat with another layer of coffee-dipped biscuits and the rest of the cream mixture.

Dust with the cocoa and grate over some chocolate shavings if you want. White chocolate would look great too!

I would love to hear if you have some fast birthday treat recipes that you would like to share. It seems our whole office was born in July (we’re all cancerians!) LOL!

Please Leave a Comment!

