DIY Pedicure – Warning: Contains Pictures of Feet!

After being none too pleased with a recent professional pedicure (hygiene and results), I thought I’d share how I do my do-at-home pedicure with “boots-season” being well underway. Taking care of your feet is especially important if you have diabetes, and in that case please have a look as to what products you are using that they’re suitable.

Here is what I use

left to right: bath-foam for soaking (can use shampoo), pedicure rasp, clippers, coconut oil (could use heavy moisturiser or even olive oil), two plastic bags, nail polish, cuticle oil, pair of socks. I forgot to add a nail-file here.
Left to right: bath-foam for soaking (can use shampoo), pedicure rasp, clippers, coconut oil (could use heavy moisturiser or even olive oil), two plastic bags, nail polish, cuticle oil, pair of socks. I forgot to add a nail-file and nailpolish remover and body scrub here.

I begin with attacking the hard-skin areas using this tool I bought in dm. I don’t soak them beforehand.

it's easiest to sit on the floor with an old towel underneath you.
it’s easiest to sit on the floor with an old towel underneath you.

Time to run the bath. Then I normally use a scrub but today I didnt have any.

you could also just use a basin of warm water. I fill the bath a little
you could also just use a basin of warm water. I fill the bath a little

Then I soak my feet for a little while in some warm water with some nice-smelling bodywash, or bath salts or shampoo… whatever’s available. Even 2 or 3 minutes will do in a pinch.

Then I trim and file the toenails, taking off old nail-polish if needed.

moisturised feet in plastic bag
moisturised feet in plastic bag

Then I use some heavy body butter/coconut oil and wrap my feet in plastic bags. I put on socks on over the bags and leave them on .

plastic bags with socks

Then I put my socks on as normal.

I put the cuticle cream on and then paint my toenails. You can push back the cuticles at this point too (honestly, I normally tend to leave this to my biannual professional pedicure.)

this is just a cheap cuticle oil from dm. it's quite good!
this is just a cheap cuticle oil from dm. it’s quite good!
i normally just choose pink or clear for tidiness.
i normally just choose pink or clear for tidiness. You can see the coconut oil is still there ;)

When I’m pushed for time I will do this step the day after.

And that’s it! It feels really nice :) I try to do this once a month. Feet are not really a nice topic, but it’s important to me that they’re healthy and presentable at yoga class :)

Please Leave a Comment!

